YA Litclub - Akata Witch

Event date: 
Monday, April 16, 2018 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
471 Angell Street
Providence, RI 02906

YA Litclub - Akata Witch

Akata Witch
by Nnedi Okorafor

World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor weaves together a story of magic, mystery, and finding one’s place in the world—for fans of Ursula Le Guin and Diana Wynne Jones.

Twelve-year-old Sunny lives in Nigeria, but she was born American. Her features are African, but she’s albino. She’s a terrific athlete, but can’t go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits. And then she discovers something amazing-she is a “free agent,” with latent magical power. Soon she’s part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. But will it be enough to help them when they are asked to catch a career criminal who knows magic too?

Nnedi Okorafor (www.nnedi.com) was born in the United States to two Igbo (Nigerian) immigrant parents. She holds a PhD in English and is a professor of creative writing at Chicago State University. She has been the winner of many awards for her short stories and young adult books, and won a World Fantasy Award for Who Fears Death. Nnedi’s books are inspired by her Nigerian heritage and her many trips to Africa. She lives in Chicago with her daughter Anyaugo and family.

The Young Adult LitClub is a new book club for adults who love YA literature, are nostalgic for those classics from their own childhood, or just plain like good books.