Francesgrace

Francesgrace recommends

Francesgrace is one of our booksellers.

Describe myself as a reader?  Eclectic.  I like characters I can obsess over and writing I can drool over.  I want a book that makes me jealous that I didn't write it. I'll try mostly anything, if it's written well enough.

Staff Pick Logo
The Cruel Prince Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316310277
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 2nd, 2018

"Reading The Cruel Prince is like watching a beautifully done chess gambit. You’re so dazzled by the skill and elegance of the player that you never see the end coming until it’s there and you’re left absolutely gasping. Jude, a human girl who was stolen away to Faerie to be raised by the man who murdered her parents, is utterly human and perfectly alien at once. We recognize ourselves in her, the fear she feels as she moves among the Folk and her determination to be strong regardless of it. And yet, she willingly takes up arms and joins the Great Game on an absolutely grand scale. Political intrigue and military subterfuge abound. Nothing is as it seems. Every time we think we know a character, the kaleidoscope turns and everything changes. I absolutely adored this book and my hands are itching for the second book in the trilogy."--Reviewed by Francesgrace


Staff Pick Logo
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062382801
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - June 27th, 2017

"Mackenzi Lee’s new book for has everything you could possibly want: intrigue, adventure, pirates, highwaymen, scandal, love, all on an European Tour.
Follow Monty, his best friend, and his sister as they have what is possibly the worst vacation ever, starting with nudity in Paris and robbery on the way to  nishing school. The story is alternately fun, heartbreaking, and breathless. You will fall in love with all three of this perfectly crafted characters and maybe even learn what a panacea is. But only maybe. (Teens ages 13-17)"--Reviewed by Francesgrace


Staff Pick Logo
The Star-Touched Queen Cover Image
$17.09
ISBN: 9781250085474
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - April 26th, 2016

A mythic reimagining written in breathtaking prose, The Star-Touched Queen is an absolute must read that crosses worlds and boundaries.
At seventeen, Maya has spent most of her life living under the cloud of a horoscope, dark with death and destruction and yet, her father is still determined that she marry.  What begins as a simple courting ritual ends in blood.  Maya is whisked away with Amar, the king of Akaran.  In the land of her new husband, Maya discovers truths about both herself and the world that she never imagined.  Mixing Indian mythology with aspects of the tale of Persephone and Hades, the novel questions what defines strength and what it means to be saved.  My favorite book of 2016 so far.  A great read for fans of the Lunar Chronicles or Marion Zimmer Bradley.


Staff Pick Logo
The Iron Tomb Cover Image
$15.29
ISBN: 9781481445788
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - August 2nd, 2016

When thirteen-year-old Sam Force boards his flight in Boston, he never imagines that the police will be waiting for him at the gate in Egypt.  His Uncle Jasper’s gone missing and there’s a warrant out for his arrest.  Now Sam is on a race against the police and the creepy guys who seem to be following him: he needs to find his uncle before they do.  With the help of his new friend Mary and the mysterious taxi driver, Hadi, Sam follows the breadcrumbs Uncle Jasper left and discover a secret that’s been buried for years in the desert sands.  A fun, fast- paced first adventure in a new series that’s perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Indiana Jones.

 


Staff Pick Logo
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One & Two: The Official Script Book of the Original West End Production Cover Image
$23.99
ISBN: 9781338099133
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - July 31st, 2016

Recommended by Francesgrace


Staff Pick Logo
Thumbelina Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781782852766
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Barefoot Books - April 30th, 2016

One of Francesgrace's 5 Favorite Children's Books


Staff Pick Logo
A Study in Charlotte Cover Image
$16.19
ISBN: 9780062398901
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 1st, 2016

Recommended by Francesgrace


Staff Pick Logo
Mother Bruce Cover Image
By Ryan T. Higgins, Ryan T. Higgins (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484730881
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - November 24th, 2015

One of Francesgraces's 5 Favorite Children's Books


Staff Pick Logo
The Mitten Cover Image
By Jan Brett, Jan Brett (Illustrator)
$16.19
ISBN: 9780399252969
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 22nd, 2015

One of Francegrace's 5 Favorite Children's Books


Staff Pick Logo
They Say/I Say: The Moves That Matter in Academic Writing, with Readings Cover Image
$61.33
ISBN: 9780393937510
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - February 1st, 2015

Recommended by Francesgrace


Staff Pick Logo
The Beekeeper's Apprentice: Or, on the Segregation of the Queen Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250055705
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - May 27th, 2014

One of Francesgrace's 5 Favorite Books


Staff Pick Logo
Special Edition Harry Potter Paperback Box Set Cover Image
By J. K. Rowling, Kazu Kibuishi (Illustrator), Mary GrandPre (Illustrator)
$90.00
ISBN: 9780545596275
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Inc. - August 27th, 2013

One of Francesgrace's 5 Favorite Books


Staff Pick Logo
Journey Cover Image
By Aaron Becker, Aaron Becker (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780763660536
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - August 6th, 2013

One of Francesgrace's 5 Favorite Children's Books


Staff Pick Logo
Paradise Lost Cover Image
By John Milton, John Leonard (Introduction by), John Leonard (Notes by)
$12.00
ISBN: 9780140424393
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 29th, 2003

One of Francesgrace's 5 Favorite Books


Staff Pick Logo
The Beggar King and the Secret of Happiness: A True Story Cover Image
$11.66
ISBN: 9781565125124
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Books - September 2nd, 2005

One of Francesgrace's 5 Favorite Books


Staff Pick Logo
The True Story of the 3 Little Pigs Cover Image
By Jon Scieszka, Lane Smith (Illustrator)
$7.19
ISBN: 9780140544510
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - March 1st, 1996

One of Francesgrace's 5 Favorite Children's Books


Staff Pick Logo
The Mists of Avalon Cover Image
$16.20
ISBN: 9780345350497
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - May 12th, 1987

One of Francesgrace's 5 Favorite Books


Subscribe to RSS - Francesgrace