YA Litclub - Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit

Event date: 
Monday, March 18, 2019 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
471 Angell Street
Providence, RI 02906

YA Litclub - Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden FruitGeorgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit
by Jaye Robin Brown

A Kirkus Reviews, Chicago Public Library, and Bustle Best Book of the Year—Gerogia Peaches received three starred reviews! When Joanna meets the perfect girl, she must decide whether to break a promise or lose out on love in this charming young adult novel.

Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli’s Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda and Julie Murphy’s Dumplin’, Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit delivers a modern love story with honest and insightful depth.

Joana has been out and proud for years, but when her radio evangelist father remarries and moves all three of them to conservative Rome, Georgia, he makes an impossible request. Thinking it will help the family to better settle in, he asks Jo to go back into the closet for the rest of her senior year—and Jo reluctantly agrees.

Jo’s almost immediately surprised by how much easier life becomes as a straight girl. She even gets in with the popular crowd at school—which is how she meets Mary Carlson. But Jo couldn’t possibly think of breaking her promise to her dad. Even if she’s starting to fall for Mary Carlson. Even if there’s a chance Mary Carlson might be interested in her, too. Right?

Jaye Robin Brown is the critically-acclaimed author of No Place to Fall and its companion digital novella Will’s Story. She lives in Norfolk County, Massachusetts.

The Young Adult LitClub is a new book club for adults who love YA literature, are nostalgic for those classics from their own childhood, or just plain like good books.