Milloo's Mind: The Story of Maryam Faruqi, Trailblazer for Women's Education (Hardcover)

Monday to Thursday 10AM to 7PM--Friday & Saturday 10AM to 8PM
--Open 11AM to 5PM on Sunday  
**Order online any time.

Milloo's Mind: The Story of Maryam Faruqi, Trailblazer for Women's Education By Reem Faruqi, Hoda Hadadi (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Reem Faruqi, Hoda Hadadi (Illustrator)
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Feb 8 1:25pm
(JUV: BIOGRAPHY/MEMOIR)

Description


From the author of Lailah’s Lunchbox and Unsettled comes a powerful picture book biography about Maryam Faruqi, the founder of the Happy Home Schools, which provided education to thousands of girls across Pakistan at a time when girls weren't encouraged to go to school.

"Powerful prose underscores Milloo’s determination and the importance of gender equity in education. The detailed art invites readers to linger over each page, poring over collaged outfits and patterns, all of which evoke a strong sense of place." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) 

Maryam was a trailblazer for women’s education and the author is her granddaughter, creating a personal, inspiring tale. Perfect for fans of Malala’s Magic Pencil and She Persisted!

Milloo lives in a time when school is considered unnecessary for girls. But to Milloo, education is essential.

When Milloo reads, her thoughts dance. Milloo courageously dreams of becoming a teacher, but in fifth grade her parents tell her she has had enough school. Milloo is heartbroken but finds a way to achieve her educational goals, graduating high school and college with honors. When she’s married, Milloo’s husband tells her to stay home, but she does not let that stop her.

She decides to open a school in her house and later opens more schools around Karachi, Pakistan, fulfilling her dreams.

About the Author


Reem Faruqi is the ALA Notable author of Lailah’s Lunchbox, Amira’s Picture Day, I Can Help, Golden Girl, and Unsettled, which is loosely based on Reem’s own story. Of Pakistani descent, Reem immigrated to Peachtree City, Georgia, in the United States from the United Arab Emirates when she was thirteen years old. Reem is also a teacher and photographer who loves to doodle. She lives in Atlanta with her husband and three daughters. Visit her online at www.reemfaruqi.com.

Praise For…


"Powerful prose underscores Milloo’s determination and the importance of gender equity in education... The detailed art invites readers to linger over each page, poring over collaged outfits and patterns, all of which evoke a strong sense of place."  — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063056619
ISBN-10: 0063056615
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: January 17th, 2023
Pages: 40
Language: English