The Digger and the Duckling (The Digger Series) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Digger and the Duckling (The Digger Series) By Joseph Kuefler, Joseph Kuefler (Illustrator) Cover Image

The Digger and the Duckling (The Digger Series) (Hardcover)

By Joseph Kuefler, Joseph Kuefler (Illustrator)

$19.99


Sold Out (Available to Order)

Staff Reviews


"This book is so precious! When a duckling waddles her way onto a construction site, a digger protects her from the other construction vehicles, since their instinct is to ostracize her because she doesn’t belong. However, the duckling quickly becomes part of the construction-site family, reminding us of the love to be shared in not only the families we’re born into but also those we make along the way."  Ages 4-8--Reviewed by Cristina

The perfect springtime gift for Easter, from the acclaimed author-illustrator of The Digger and the Flower. Ideal for fans of Sherri Duskey Rinker’s Construction Site series.

Digger and the other big trucks love to build.

But when a lost duckling waddles onto the jobsite, Digger and his friends learn to do more than just scoop and hoist and push . . . They learn to become a family.

Share this beautiful picture book as a great introduction to taking care of the environment.

Joseph Kuefler is the author-illustrator of the Digger series, Beyond the Pond, Rulers of the Playground, Pillow Places, and Bigger Than a Bumblebee and the illustrator of Night Is for Darkness by Jonathan Stutzman. He lives in Minnesota with his wife and children. You can visit him online at josephkuefler.com.



Joseph Kuefler is the author-illustrator of the Digger series, Beyond the Pond, Rulers of the Playground, Pillow Places, and Bigger Than a Bumblebee and the illustrator of Night Is for Darkness by Jonathan Stutzman. He lives in Minnesota with his wife and children. You can visit him online at josephkuefler.com.

Product Details ISBN: 9780063062542
ISBN-10: 0063062542
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: February 22nd, 2022
Pages: 48
Language: English
Series: The Digger Series

“Kuefler is back with another sweet message, this one featuring a lost duckling who finds her way into the construction site—and the hearts of the busy trucks. Recommended, and not just for truck enthusiasts.” — School Library Journal

THE DIGGER AND THE FLOWER: “Kuefler imbues the text with the heart and soul of the best storytime fare… One couldn’t hope for a better tale of rebirth and regeneration” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Kuefler’s simply written and beautifully illustrated tale has a powerful message about the importance of the environment...A wonderful, inspiring tale, perfect for read-alouds.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

“The image of the clunky piece of construction equipment tenderly caring for the fragile plant gives the story charm, and so do its strong, simple images.” — Publishers Weekly