The Digger and the Duckling (Hardcover)

We strongly encourage all customers to wear a mask regardless of vaccination status.  Masks are required for unvaccinated adults.  Thank you!

Monday to Thursday 10AM to 7PM--Friday & Saturday 10AM to 8PM
--Open 11AM to 5PM on Sunday  
**Order online any time.

Staff Pick Badge
The Digger and the Duckling By Joseph Kuefler, Joseph Kuefler (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Joseph Kuefler, Joseph Kuefler (Illustrator)
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Jul 6 12:03pm
(JUV: PICTURE BOOKS)

Staff Reviews


"This book is so precious! When a duckling waddles her way onto a construction site, a digger protects her from the other construction vehicles, since their instinct is to ostracize her because she doesn’t belong. However, the duckling quickly becomes part of the construction-site family, reminding us of the love to be shared in not only the families we’re born into but also those we make along the way."  Ages 4-8--Reviewed by Cristina

Description


From the acclaimed author-illustrator Joseph Kuefler comes a companion to his popular picture book The Digger and the Flower. Perfect for fans of Peter Brown’s The Curious Garden and Kadir Nelson’s If You Plant a Seed, as well as readers who love the machines in Sherri Duskey Rinker’s Construction Site series.

Digger and the other big trucks love to build.

But when a lost duckling waddles onto the jobsite, Digger and his friends learn to do more than just scoop and hoist and push . . . They learn to become a family.

Share this beautiful picture book as a great introduction to taking care of the environment.

About the Author


Joseph Kuefler is the author-illustrator of The Digger and the Flower, Beyond the Pond, Rulers of the Playground, and Pillow Places as well as the illustrator of The Night Is for Darkness by Jonathan Stutzman. He lives in Minnesota with his wife and children. You can visit him online at www.josephkuefler.com.



Joseph Kuefler is the author-illustrator of The Digger and the Flower, Beyond the Pond, Rulers of the Playground, and Pillow Places as well as the illustrator of The Night Is for Darkness by Jonathan Stutzman. He lives in Minnesota with his wife and children. You can visit him online at www.josephkuefler.com.

Praise For…


“Kuefler is back with another sweet message, this one featuring a lost duckling who finds her way into the construction site—and the hearts of the busy trucks. Recommended, and not just for truck enthusiasts.” — School Library Journal

THE DIGGER AND THE FLOWER: “Kuefler imbues the text with the heart and soul of the best storytime fare… One couldn’t hope for a better tale of rebirth and regeneration” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Kuefler’s simply written and beautifully illustrated tale has a powerful message about the importance of the environment...A wonderful, inspiring tale, perfect for read-alouds.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

“The image of the clunky piece of construction equipment tenderly caring for the fragile plant gives the story charm, and so do its strong, simple images.” — Publishers Weekly



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063062542
ISBN-10: 0063062542
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: February 22nd, 2022
Pages: 48
Language: English