Operation: Happy: A World War II Story of Courage, Resilience, and an Unbreakable Bond (Hardcover)

Operation: Happy: A World War II Story of Courage, Resilience, and an Unbreakable Bond By Jenni L. Walsh Cover Image

Operation: Happy: A World War II Story of Courage, Resilience, and an Unbreakable Bond (Hardcover)

$18.99


On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Jun 15 3:35am
(JUV: MIDDLE GRADE FICTION)

As World War II enters her backyard, a young girl tries to cope with the war and keep her family together by completing a bucket list with her best friend: her dog Happy. Featuring a dog's POV and inspired by real-life experiences of a young Pearl Harbor survivor, this historical middle-grade novel will inspire readers 8-12 to find courage in any situation.

It's 1940, and Jody is moving with her military family yet again--this time to a small naval base in Pearl Harbor. She's always created a "top ten" list for each new home to help her adjust, and with Hawaii being so beautiful and her loyal dog Happy by her side, it's easy to find things to add.

But Jody's mom is convinced the island is dangerous and starts constantly practicing first aid. Jody also learns that Happy is getting older and beginning to slow down. To cope, she makes a list of fun things they can do together. "Operation: Happy" gives her something to focus on beyond the scary new experiences, like air raid drills and Yellow Fever vaccinations.

Before long, everyone's worst fears come true: Pearl Harbor is attacked. In the aftermath, Jody's father must stay behind as the rest of the family is evacuated, and Jody promises him she will keep everyone together. But things are hard in San Francisco, where she feels like an outsider. Worse, her mother has become depressed, and Jody worries she and her sister will have to go to an orphanage. With Happy by her side, Jody hatches a brave plan to keep the family safe ... Will Operation: Happy see them through?

Operation: Happy is:

  • perfect for fans of historical fiction as well as animal lovers
  • a moving and historically accurate novel inspired by true events
  • ideal for readers of Kimberly Brubaker Bradley and Kate DiCamillo
Product Details ISBN: 9780310159261
ISBN-10: 0310159261
Publisher: Zonderkidz
Publication Date: April 2nd, 2024
Pages: 240
Language: English