Vampiric Vacation (The Sinister Summer Series #2) (Hardcover)

Monday to Thursday 10AM to 7PM--Friday & Saturday 10AM to 8PM
--Open 11AM to 5PM on Sunday  
**Order online any time.

Expanded Sunday Hours: 12/11 & 12/18 - 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Staff Pick Badge
Vampiric Vacation (The Sinister Summer Series #2) By Kiersten White Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Dec 8 5:18pm
(JUV: MIDDLE GRADE FICTION)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the The Sinister Summer Series series.

Staff Reviews


"The Winterbottom twins are back! This time, Aunt Saffronia drops Theo, Alexander, and their sixteen-year-old sister Wil off at the Sanguine Spa in the Little Transylvanian Mountains. A sinister scavenger hunt full of good old tongue-in-cheek gothic humor ensues. I would recommend reading the first book in the series, Wretched Waterpark, to fully appreciate the context of this one. This is the perfect new series for fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events."--Reviewed by Cristina

Description


The spooky summer adventures of the Sinister-Winterbottom twins continue in another gothic mystery: can Theo and Alexander solve the secret of the Sanguine Spa in the little Transylvania Mountains? The second book in the new Sinister Summer series by #1 NYT bestselling author Kiersten White, called "perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, Edward Gorey, and Roald Dahl," by Shelf Awareness.

After leaving Fathoms of Fun, the kids are on their way to the next odd summer destination their aunt has chosen for them. This time, they find themselves dropped off at the Sanguine Spa in the “little Transylvania Mountains.” There they meet the owners: Mina, her mysterious little sister, Lucy (who is extremely pale, can’t go in the sunlight, and has an affinity for hanging upside down from the ceiling), and their intimidating guardian, the Count.  

When the Count sends all the children in the spa on a scavenger hunt, the Sinister-Winterbottoms use the excuse to snoop around and discover that this spa may be more than just eerie—it might also hold clues to what happened to their parents. When Wil starts to show vampiric symptoms, the twins resolve to investigate what’s really going on at the Sanguine Spa.  

The second book in the Sinister Summer series continues the adventures of the Sinister-Winterbottoms and their aunt who never saw a discount vacation destination she didn’t love.

About the Author


Kiersten White has never been a lifeguard, camp counselor, or spa masseuse, but she is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than twenty books, including Wretched Waterpark, the first book in the Sinister Summer series, and Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales. She lives with her family near the beach and keeps all her secrets safely buried in her backyard, where they are guarded by a ferocious tortoise named Kimberly.

kierstenwhite.com
@kierstenwhite on Twitter

Praise For…


Praise for Vampiric Vacation:

A JLG selection!

"Another eerie escapade in a delightfully quirky series."--Kirkus

Praise for the Sinister Summer series:

"Wickedly weird."--The New York Times

“Like a big waterslide that you scream all the way down, only to laugh in relief and get right back on, this book is gothically hilarious and an absolute delight. If I have to die in a waterpark, I want to die in this one.”--Holly Black, #1 NYT-bestselling author of The Folk of the Air series

"If you like stories about mostly perfectly nice children in imperfectly spooky situations, you’ll adore Kiersten White’s Wretched Waterpark! It's both give-you-the-chills-creepy and laugh-in-a-room-by-yourself-funny. Full of heart and bravery and the most wonderful weirdness."--Lora Senf, author of The Clackity

"A timeless and charming romp of mysterious gothic delight for fans of Neil Gaiman, The Mysterious Benedict Society, and Hotel Transylvania. I want to live in this world!"--Delilah S. Dawson, NYT bestselling author of the Minecraft Mob Squad series and Mine

"Everything I want in a creepy middle grade book: wonderfully odd characters, mystery and humor, a murderous gothic waterpark. Dangerously delightful.”--Jacqueline West, NYT-bestselling author of The Books of Elsewhere and Long Lost

"The creepy gothic setting, the relationships between the siblings, the cast of unusual characters, and the teasers that this episode is just one part of a much larger puzzle will keep readers hooked. Young goths will be all-in for the trippy mysteries."--Kirkus Reviews

"Readers who enjoy quirky mysteries will fall in love with the clever and relatable Sinister-Winterbottom twins, who will solve the mystery before their aunt shuffles them off to their next adventure."--Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593379080
ISBN-10: 059337908X
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: September 27th, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: The Sinister Summer Series