Select (Hardcover)

Select By Christie Matheson Cover Image

Select (Hardcover)

$17.99


Sold Out (Available to Order)
One girl and her soccer team take a stand against the bullies who push them too far in this brave, inspiring novel that celebrates girl power and the true spirit of sports. Perfect for readers who love The Crossover and Fighting Words.

"A tale of terrific girl power and athleticism." —Kirkus Reviews

Twelve-year-old Alex loves playing soccer, and she’s good at it, too. Very good. When her skills land her a free ride to play for Select, an elite soccer club, it feels like a huge opportunity. Joining Select could be the key to a college scholarship and a bright future—one that Alex’s family can’t promise her.

But as the team gets better and better, her new coach pushes the players harder and harder, until soccer starts to feel more like punishment than fun. And then there comes a point where enough is enough, and Alex and her teammates must take a stand to find a better way to make their soccer dreams come true.

Powerful and inspiring, Select explores the important difference between positive and negative coaching and celebrates the true spirit of sports.
Christie Matheson is the author of Shelter and is also the author-illustrator of many picture books, including Tap the Magic Tree, Touch the Brightest Star, and Bird Watch. She lives in San Francisco with her family. Find her on Instagram at @christiematheson.
Product Details ISBN: 9780593567234
ISBN-10: 0593567234
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 9th, 2023
Pages: 224
Language: English
"A tale of terrific girl power and athleticism." —Kirkus Reviews

“[A] quickly paced, empowering contemporary novel about girls’ soccer and self-advocacy.” —Publishers Weekly