Little Pea: (Children's Book, Books for Baby, Books about Picky Eaters, Board Books for Kids) (Hardcover)

Little Pea: (Children's Book, Books for Baby, Books about Picky Eaters, Board Books for Kids) Cover Image
By Amy Krouse Rosenthal, Jen Corace (Illustrator)
List Price: $15.99
Our Price: $14.39
(Save: $1.60 10%)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


"Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Jen Corace strike beautiful balance between story and art in Little Pea." The New York Times

A sweet and amusing story to which little picky eaters can relate: If Little Pea doesn't eat all of his sweets, there will be no vegetables for dessert! What's a young pea to do? A delightful twist on a classic parent predicament, children will enjoy the unique tale and find themselves relating with Little Peamore than expected.

• An entertaining story about meal times with charming text that families can enjoy together
• Features simple, yet impactful illustrations that are engaging and help readers connect to the story
• Amy Krouse Rosenthal is a Chicago-based writer and Mama Pea. She is the author of Encyclopedia of Our Ordinary Life. This is her first children's book

"Picky eaters will enjoy the subtle humor of this topsy-turvy tale." School Library Journal

Fans of Little Oink, Little Hoot, and Duck! Rabbit! will enjoy the sweet musings of Little Pea and his loving family adventures.

• Great family read-aloud book
• Books for kids ages 2-4
• Books for preschool and up

About the Author


Amy Krouse Rosenthal is a Chicago-based writer and Mama Pea. She is the author of Encyclopedia of Our Ordinary Life . This is her first children's book.

Jen Corace grew up in New Jersey where she spent a lot of time in her bedroom, drawing, and scheming. A graduate of the Rhode Island School of Design with a BFA in Illustration, she can still be found in Rhode Island, drawing and scheming the day away.

Praise For…


"Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Jen Corace strike beautiful balance between story and art in 'Little Pea' (2005), a book that pedagogues might point out teaches basic physics and math while poking fun at picky eaters. This critic prefers to describe it as a family portrait of legumes in which the baby has to eat all his candy in order to get spinach for dessert." The New York Times



A crowd pleaser in the tradition of Mitchell Sharmat's Gregory, The Terrible Eater (1980), illustrated by Jose Aruego and Ariane Dewey, this simply told and illustrated episode features both a decidedly atypical family (all head, no body) facing a similar dinnertime issue, and a delicious final twist. Little Pea's generally a happy legume, hanging with friends, rolling down hills, and being catapulted off a spoon by Papa Pea--but meals are always fraught, for Little Pea hates candy, which as you know (you didn't?) is all that peas eat. "If you don't finish your candy, you can't have dessert," says Mama Pea. Negotiating his quota down to five cellophane-wrapped pieces, Little Pea proceeds to choke them down--"Three. Plck. Four. Pleh."--then jumps for joy at dessert's arrival--a heaping bowl of spinach. Expect bursts of hilarity from young listeners, picky eaters or no. Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Picky eaters will enjoy the subtle humor of this topsy-turvy tale." School Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9780811846585
ISBN-10: 081184658X
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: February 17th, 2005
Pages: 36
Language: English