Pawcasso (Paperback)

We are still requiring masks as children under 12 cannot get vaccinated.
Please wear a mask in consideration of others.  Thank you!--More information

New Spring Hours!!  Monday to Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
--New Sunday Hours: 12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. 

**Order online any time.

Pawcasso Cover Image
By Remy Lai, Remy Lai (Illustrator)
$14.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Jun 18 10:03am
(JUV: MIDDLE GRADE GRAPHIC NOVE)

Description


Remy Lai, the award-winning creator of Pie in the Sky makes her middle-grade graphic novel debut, Pawcasso, about the unexpected friendship between the loneliest girl in class and the coolest canine in town.

"It's tail-wagging entertaining!" —Kelly Yang, New York Times bestselling author of Front Desk

Every Saturday, Pawcasso trots into town with a basket, a shopping list, and cash in paw to buy groceries for his family. One day, he passes eleven-year-old Jo, peering out the window of her house, bored and lonely. Astonished by the sight of an adorable basket-toting dog on his own, Jo follows Pawcasso, and when she’s seen alongside him by a group of kids from her school, they mistake her for Pawcasso’s owner.

Excited to make new friends, Jo reluctantly hides the truth and agrees to let “her” dog model for an art class the kids attend. What could go wrong? But what starts as a Chihuahua-sized lie quickly grows Great Dane-sized when animal control receives complaints about a dog roaming the streets off-leash. With Pawcasso’s freedom at stake, is Jo willing to spill the truth and risk her new friendships?

"A beautifully drawn and delightful story bursting with art, books, and fun!" Maria Scrivan, New York Times bestselling author of Nat Enough and Forget Me Nat

About the Author


Remy Lai studied fine arts, with a major in painting and drawing. She was born in Indonesia, grew up in Singapore, and currently lives in Brisbane, Australia, where she writes and draws stories for kids with her two dogs by her side. She is the author of the critically-acclaimed Pie in the Sky, Fly on the Wall, and Pawcasso.

Remy Lai studied fine arts, with a major in painting and drawing. She was born in Indonesia, grew up in Singapore, and currently lives in Brisbane, Australia, where she writes and draws stories for kids with her two dogs by her side. She is the author of the critically-acclaimed Pie in the Sky, Fly on the Wall, and Pawcasso.

Praise For…


"A skillfully woven story of acceptance and forgiveness. These concepts aren’t easy to present to a young audience in an upbeat way, but Remy Lai succeeds: The dog provides both reliable comfort and comedic relief. . . This book is filled with masterly drawings of the furry kind." —New York Times Book Review

"It's tail-wagging entertaining!" —Kelly Yang, New York Times bestselling author of Front Desk

"A beautifully drawn and delightful story bursting with art, books, and fun!" Maria Scrivan, New York Times bestselling author of Nat Enough and Forget Me Nat

* "Brightly colored, inviting artwork . . . This cute and charming story of missing family, making friends, and figuring out how to make amends is a fun treat, and the subplot about learning how to mend strife in a community adds meaningful depth." —Booklist, starred review

"Move over, Jeff Kinney . . . Lai’s finger is always precisely on the pulse of kid humor." —Horn Book

"Pawsitively charming." —Kirkus

"Lai tenderly crafts a tale of friendship, loss, and the risks involved in letting people in, encouraging readers to love deeply." —Publishers Weekly

"A page-turning delight, and a must for dog lovers." —School Library Journal

"Readers will delight in the ups and downs of Jo’s journey and fall for both her and her canine pal." —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Lai’s candy-colored, cartoon-style illustrations are a delightful complement to this cute, clever romp. A gentle story of community, forgiveness and redemption." —BookPage


Praise for Fly on the Wall

A Best Book of the Year for Kirkus, Booklist, Chicago Public Library, and School Library Journal!

“Funny, enthralling, and a great reminder that being a little odd isn’t a bad thing.” —Kayla Miller, author of Click and Camp

"Bright, funny storytelling . . . in this sharp, sweet story there is much to connect with." —The New York Times Book Review

* "Near-misses and laugh-out-loud moments abound, which will endear it to readers who like 'Big Nate' and 'Wimpy Kid,' but Henry’s character development in this illustrated novel leaves Greg Heffley in the dust." —School Library Journal, starred review

* "Lai has a talent of not preaching to her readers, instead offering the reassurance that no one is alone in experiencing the painful awkwardness and occasionally harsh realities of growing up. . . This thrilling coming-of-age adventure is both quirky and sincere." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "Comics-style artwork gives the book Wimpy Kid flair . . . readers will fall in love with Henry. A smile-inducing crowd-pleaser." —Booklist, starred review

"I absolutely loved the storytelling . . . Add in the copious humor (did I mention it’s genuinely laugh-out-loud funny?) and remarkable cathartic journey and you’ve got yourself a winner." — Fuse #8

Praise for Pie in the Sky

Winner of the Sid Fleischman Award for Humor!

A Parents Magazine Best Kids Book of the Year!

A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year!

An NPR Best Book of the Year!

A Horn Book Best Book of the Year!

"Pie in the Sky
is like enjoying a decadent cake. . . heartwarming and rib-tickling." —Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

* “Perfect for fans of Gene Luen Yang and Victoria Jamieson.” —Shelf Awareness, starred review

* "Like salted caramel, a perfect balance of flavors, this deftly drawn story is a heartfelt treat." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Uproarious humor and a burgeoning friendship add to the ingredients in this stunning debut. . . a book to be savored – and the illustrations are the icing on the cake." —NPR

* "The humor [is] akin to that of Jeff Kinney’s popular “Wimpy Kid” series . . . the perfect mixture of funny and emotionally resonant." —School Library Journal, starred review

* "Lai imbues this [story] with an undeniable sweetness." —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review

* "A delectable page-turner. . . Heartbreakingly honest; in equal parts funny and poignant." —Horn Book, starred review



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250774491
ISBN-10: 1250774497
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. BYR Paperbacks
Publication Date: May 25th, 2021
Pages: 240
Language: English