Promise Boys (Hardcover)

Monday to Thursday 10AM to 7PM--Friday & Saturday 10AM to 8PM
--Open 11AM to 5PM on Sunday  
**Order online any time.

Promise Boys By Nick Brooks Cover Image
$19.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Feb 8 1:25pm
(JUV: YOUNG ADULT)

Description


A blockbuster mystery about three teens of color who must investigate their principal’s murder to clear their own names—this page-turning thriller is perfect for fans of Karen McManus, Jason Reynolds, Angie Thomas, and Holly Jackson.

"Thrilling, captivating, and blade-sharp." —Karen M. McManus, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying

"A brilliant pulls-no-punches mystery." —Adam Silvera, #1 New York Times bestselling author of They Both Die at the End

The Urban Promise Prep School vows to turn boys into men. As students, J.B., Ramón, and Trey are forced to follow the prestigious "program's" strict rules. Extreme discipline, they’ve been told, is what it takes to be college bound, to avoid the fates of many men in their neighborhoods. This, the Principal Moore Method, supposedly saves lives.

But when Moore ends up murdered and the cops come sniffing around, the trio emerges as the case's prime suspects. With all three maintaining their innocence, they must band together to track down the real killer before they are arrested. But is the true culprit hiding among them? The Hate U Give meets One of Us Is Lying in Nick Brooks's Promise Boys.

About the Author


Nick Brooks is an author and award-winning filmmaker from Washington, DC. He is a 2020 graduate of USC's TV and Film Production program. His short film, Hoop Dreamin', earned him the George Lucas Scholar Award and was a finalist in the Forbes 30 Under 30 Film Fest. He is currently in development for his first feature film, We Were Born Kings, with Mandalay Pictures. Before becoming a filmmaker, Nick was an educator working with at-risk youth and many of his stories are colored by his experiences with the children and families of his community. He is also the author of Nothing Interesting Ever Happens to Ethan Fairmont. Follow Nick on Twitter and on Instagram.

Praise For…


An Amazon Best Book of the Month
An Indigo Staff Pick of the Month

"Thrilling, captivating, and blade-sharp. Promise Boys will stay with you long after the last page." —Karen M. McManus, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying

"I was at the edge of my seat trying to figure out if I was reading a story about boys becoming men or boys becoming killers—you will be too. A brilliant pulls-no-punches mystery with bruised hearts at its core." —Adam Silvera, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of They Both Die at the End

"I can't wait to see this expertly crafted mystery take the world over." —Nic Stone, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Dear Martin

“Nothing short of astounding. A spellbinding, propulsive mystery while simultaneously presenting a searing critique of structural injustice. I recommend it to anyone who loves books or doesn’t.” —Jeff Zentner, award-winning author of The Serpent King and In the Wild Light

"An edge-of-your-seats, street-smart, exploding-with-talent novel.” —Francisco X. Stork, author of On the Hook

*
"A top-notch page-turner and deep character study . . . will grip readers, who won’t want to stop reading." —Booklist, starred review

* "Breathtakingly complex and intriguing." —Kirkus, starred review

* "
Brooks excels in creating protagonists worthy of applause and truly foul villains, whose presences linger long after this atmospheric read ends." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "
This cinematic thriller deftly entertains readers while leveling a sharp indictment of society's mistreatment of Black and Latinx teenage boys. A tense and urgent mystery that can help break the cycle it condemns." —Shelf Awareness, starred review

"Heartbreaking and riveting in equal measure." —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Builds to an exhilarating crescendo." —Horn Book



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250866974
ISBN-10: 1250866979
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Date: January 31st, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English