The Honeys (Hardcover)

We strongly encourage all customers to wear a mask regardless of vaccination status.  Masks are required for unvaccinated adults.  Thank you!

Monday to Thursday 10AM to 7PM--Friday & Saturday 10AM to 8PM
--Open 11AM to 5PM on Sunday  
**Order online any time.

Staff Pick Badge
The Honeys By Ryan La Sala Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Oct 4 3:03pm
(JUV: YA LGBT FICTION)

Staff Reviews


"Kirkus Reviews claimed this book is “as rich and complex as dark amber honey,” and I couldn’t agree more. Seventeen-year-old Mars and their privileged sister Caroline are thick as thieves until her tragic and violent death. Mars quickly suspects that their sister’s friends—a secretive group of girls (the Honeys) who attend the Summer Academy at the Aspen Conservancy—had something to do with her demise. Aspen was the site of major trauma for Mars, but they are determined to uncover the truth in spite of the past and feeling like an outsider for being nonbinary. If you’re a fan of slow but methodical introspection, paranormal horror, and twists, pick this up!"--Reviewed by Cristina

Description


From Ryan La Sala, the wildly popular author of Reverie, comes a twisted and tantalizing horror novel set amidst the bucolic splendor of a secluded summer retreat.

Mars has always been the lesser twin, the shadow to his sister Caroline's radiance. But when Caroline dies under horrific circumstances, Mars is propelled to learn all he can about his once-inseparable sister who'd grown tragically distant.

Mars's genderfluidity means he's often excluded from the traditions -- and expectations -- of his politically-connected family. This includes attendance at the prestigious Aspen Conservancy Summer Academy where his sister poured so much of her time. But with his grief still fresh, he insists on attending in her place.

What Mars finds is a bucolic fairytale not meant for him. Folksy charm and sun-drenched festivities camouflage old-fashioned gender roles and a toxic preparatory rigor. Mars seeks out his sister's old friends: a group of girls dubbed the Honeys, named for the beehives they maintain behind their cabin. They are beautiful and terrifying -- and Mars is certain they're connected to Caroline's death.

But the longer he stays at Aspen, the more the sweet mountain breezes give way to hints of decay. Mars’s memories begin to falter, bleached beneath the relentless summer sun. Something is hunting him in broad daylight, toying with his mind. If Mars can't find it soon, it will eat him alive.

About the Author


Ryan La Sala writes about surreal things happening to queer people. He is the author of Reverie and Be Dazzled and lives in New York City. Visit him online at ryanlasala.com.

Praise For…


"La Sala gives real-life fears a supernatural twist, cleverly using folk horror and psychological-thriller elements to heighten Mars’ understandable tension and infuse this idyllic location with dread....The eerily ambivalent conclusion is pure horror gold."

—Booklist, starred review

"A dark and redolent tale of familial bonds, grief, and a secretive summer camp tucked away in the heart of forests vast and dizzyingly wild. THE HONEYS creeped me out and I loved every moment of it."

—Erin A. Craig, NYT bestselling author of HOUSE OF SALT AND SORROWS

"Novel after novel, La Sala proves himself to be a powerhouse in the YA space worthy of all the flowers that come his way. With crisp prose, a hauntingly stellar cast, and a main character we can't help but root for, THE HONEYS is a perfect successor for fans of MIDSOMMAR and HEREDITARY chomping at the bit for their next great obsession. Just, watch out for the bees."

—Kosoko Jackson, author of YESTERDAY IS HISTORY

"The queer horror hive has a new queen! In THE HONEYS, La Sala pulls readers into a darkly poetic, razor-sharp satire of gender binaries—and the binary of good and evil. A grim, beautiful exploration of the human body, its horrific surprises as well as its transcendent power."

—Adam Sass, award-winning author of SURRENDER YOUR SONS and THE 99 BOYFRIENDS OF MICAH SUMMERS



Product Details
ISBN: 9781338745313
ISBN-10: 133874531X
Publisher: PUSH
Publication Date: August 16th, 2022
Pages: 352
Language: English