Marya Khan and the Incredible Henna Party (Marya Khan #1) (Paperback)

Marya Khan and the Incredible Henna Party (Marya Khan #1) By Saadia Faruqi, Ani Bushry (Illustrator) Cover Image

Marya Khan and the Incredible Henna Party (Marya Khan #1) (Paperback)

By Saadia Faruqi, Ani Bushry (Illustrator)

$6.99


On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Feb 26 11:43am
(JUV: EARLY READERS)
Perfect for fans of Ivy & Bean and Dory Fantasmagory, Marya Khan and the Incredible Henna Party is the start of a charming chapter book series from acclaimed author Saadia Faruqi about a Pakistani American third-grader whose plans may backfire but whose persistence and heart are inspiring.
 
Marya’s eighth birthday is coming up in a week, and all she wants is an over-the-top birthday party just like the ones Alexa, her rich neighbor, always throws. When Alexa parades into school with fancy invitations, Marya can’t help herself—she claims that she’s having the most epic henna party ever. Now she has to convince her family to make it happen.
 
Enter Operation Help the Khans! Marya’s siblings clearly need help with their projects. Maybe she could cook dinner for her parents, or clean her grandmother’s room? Except everything Marya does seems to end in disaster. Will Marya and her family be able pull it together and throw the best party ever?!
 
Featuring black-and-white illustrations by Ani Bushry and a selection of henna designs to trace and color.
Saadia Faruqi was born in Pakistan and moved to the United States when she was 22 years old. She writes the Yasmin series and popular middle-grade novels such as Yusuf Azeem Is Not a Hero. Besides writing books for kids, she also loves reading, binge-watching her favorite shows, and taking naps. She lives in Houston with her family.

Ani Bushry graduated from the University of West England with a background in graphic design and illustration. She grew up listening to stories her mom used to tell her and always wanted to tell her own stories. She lives in the Maldives with her husband and cat, Lilo, whom she loves to spoil.
Product Details ISBN: 9781419761171
ISBN-10: 141976117X
Publisher: Amulet Paperbacks
Publication Date: March 7th, 2023
Pages: 160
Language: English
Series: Marya Khan
"There’s so much to love about Marya. She’s spunky, persistent, and resourceful. . .A delightful story of friendship, family, and upended expectations.
— Kirkus Reviews

"Readers will look forward to reading more of plucky Marya’s adventures."
— School Library Journal

"A lively voice brings the large cast to life in this fast-paced, entertaining chapter book." 
— Publishers Weekly