Things in Jars (Large Print / Library Binding)

We are available Monday to Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. for Limited Browsing, Order Pickup, Phone Orders, and Contactless Parking Lot Pickup.  Order online 24 hours a day.

**Free Local Area Delivery on Tuesday and Friday**

Please Note:  Many of the high demand books that say 'On our Shelves Now' are on hold for other customers.  You can place an order and we will let you know when they come back in stock.  Thank you for your patience.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Things in Jars Cover Image
$35.19
Not Yet Published

Staff Reviews


"It’s a true pleasure to meet Bridie Divine, protagonist of Things in Jars by Jess Kidd. Bridie is a detective in mid-1800s London, a pipe-smoking, ghost-seeing detective unlike any you’ve ever encountered. She is brought the cases strange and unsolvable, and uses her experience as a child resurrectionist and doctor’s apprentice to solve cases. Charged with finding Christable Berwick, stolen secret child of a nobleman who was born different and valuable to collectors of the 'unusual.' The case takes Bridie down paths of those collectors, from circus showmen to private anatomists and the villains who make the deals in between. Assisting Bridie is an eclectic collection of misfits that range from the giantess Cora to street sweeper Jem, every character worthy of their very own book! I loved Things in Jars and hope to share this book with everyone I know!"

More recommendations from Jennifer

— Jennifer

February 2020 Indie Next List


“Set in Victorian England, Things in Jars feels like a Sherlock Holmes story, if Holmes had been a woman. You can’t help but love Bridie Devine, a strong-willed, chain-smoking woman who has clawed her way from life as an orphaned thief to a highly sought-after detective often consulted by Scotland Yard. Bridie’s newest case, though, is proving difficult and incredibly strange. Not only will it force her to confront someone from her past who she thought was dead, she’ll also team up with an actual ghost as she solves a fantastical crime. Highly imaginative, Things in Jars is a fun and immersive read.”
— Jamie Southern, Bookmarks, Winston-Salem, NC

Description


In this "miraculous and thrilling" (Diane Setterfield, #1 New York Times bestselling author) mystery for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation, Victorian London comes to life as an intrepid female sleuth wades through a murky world of collectors and criminals to recover a remarkable child.

Bridie Devine--flame-haired, pipe-smoking detective extraordinaire--is confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet: the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick, secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick, and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors in this age of discovery.

Winding her way through the sooty streets of Victorian London, Bridie won't rest until she finds the young girl, even if it means unearthing secrets about her past that she'd rather keep buried. Luckily, her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters, including a seven-foot-tall housemaid; a melancholic, tattoo-covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary. But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where nothing is quite what it seems.

Blending darkness and light, Things in Jars is a stunning, "richly woven tapestry of fantasy, folklore, and history" (Booklist, starred review) that explores what it means to be human in inhumane times.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781432880323
ISBN-10: 1432880322
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Publication Date: January 15th, 2022
Language: English