Migrations (Large Print / Paperback)

New Winter Hours!!  Monday to Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
--Sunday 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

We are here for limited in-store browsing and contactless parking lot pickup.
**Order online any time.

Staff Pick Badge
Migrations Cover Image
$34.09
Backordered - Unable to Order at this Time

Staff Reviews


"Franny is trying to follow the last of the arctic terns on their annual migration.  She convinces a fishing boat captain to help her follow the birds by telling him they the birds will lead them to the now dwindling schools of fish.  This climate change adventure story is all about determination, passion, and obsession.  I fell in love with the character of Franny and her need to know more about the migration of the arctic terns."--Reviewed by Percy

August 2020 Indie Next List


“Imagine a world where almost all the animals have disappeared. Imagine a love strong enough to believe it can make a difference. In a fragile, near-future world, author Charlotte McConaghy gives us Franny Stone, a character as wild and broken as the few remaining Arctic terns she is determined to follow on what will most likely be their last migration. Franny’s quest is as epic as Captain Ahab’s, and while it leaves much destruction in its wake, it is ultimately a quest toward life. Migrations is a book so beautiful it will leave you breathless. Breathless with cold despair, and breathless with pulsating life and hope. This is a truly stunning debut.”
— Lisa Swayze, Buffalo Street Books, Ithaca, NY

Description


"Migrations is as beautiful and as wrenching as anything I've ever read. This is an extraordinary novel by a wildly talented writer." --Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven

For readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven, a novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world's last birds--and her own final chance for redemption.

Franny Stone has always been a wanderer. By following the ocean's tides and the birds that soar above, she can forget the losses that have haunted her life. But when the wild she loves begins to disappear, Franny can no longer wander without a destination. She arrives in remote Greenland with one purpose: to find the world's last flock of Arctic terns and follow them on their final migration. She convinces Ennis Malone, captain of the Saghani, to take her onboard, winning over his eccentric crew with promises that the birds she is tracking will lead them to fish.

As the Saghani fights its way south, Franny's new shipmates begin to realize that she is full of dark secrets: night terrors, an unsent pile of letters, and an obsession with pursuing the terns at any cost. When the story of her past begins to unspool, Ennis and his crew must ask themselves what Franny is really running toward--and running from.

Propelled by a narrator as fierce and fragile as the terns she is following, Migrations is both an ode to our threatened world and a breathtaking page-turner about the lengths we will go for the people we love.

About the Author


Charlotte McConaghy is an author and screenwriter based in Sydney, Australia. Migrations is her U.S. debut.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781432883423
ISBN-10: 1432883429
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Publication Date: October 28th, 2020
Pages: 425
Language: English