When We Were Vikings (Compact Disc)

*USPS shipping is taking up to 2-3 weeks instead of 2-7 days, please consider contactless Parking Lot Pickup if you are in the area.

Staff Pick Badge
When We Were Vikings Cover Image
List Price: $39.99
Our Price: $35.99
(Save: $4.00 10%)
Not in bookstore--Can order from warehouse

Staff Reviews


"Zelda is determined to be a heroine. She has just turned 21, her parents are dead, her older brother Gert is her caretaker, and she is on the fetal alcohol spectrum. Gert is in college on scholarship, and Zelda spends many of her days at the library, reading about Vikings, and at the Community Center for Literacy and Social classes. Zelda likes rules, she can speak the Viking language, and she admires the Valkyrie. She would also like to have sex with her boyfriend Marxy, but his mother keeps getting in the way of their relationship. When she discovers that her brother has been lying to her, and may be in trouble, Zelda decides that she must become the warrior that she is meant to be in order to save her tribe, and to create the life that she deserves. For fans of The Silver Linings Playbook and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, this book could definitely be a young adult crossover title as well."

More recommendations from Susan

— Susan

February 2020 Indie Next List


“I could not put this book down. Readers rarely have the opportunity to see the world through the eyes of someone with a disability and experience their lives in a meaningful way. We rarely see people with Down syndrome or fetal alcohol syndrome depicted as truly feeling, flesh-and-blood people who experience love, lust, heartbreak, and disappointment, who face challenges as they strive for their dream. Zelda is my new hero! She is undaunted and unflappable as she grapples with her dreams and life experiences. Your journey with her will be all too brief, but it is one that will stay with you long after you read the last page.”
— Rebecca Gottberg, Rediscovered Books, Boise, ID



Product Details
ISBN: 9781508299448
ISBN-10: 1508299447
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: January 28th, 2020
Language: English