Things in Jars (Compact Disc)

We are available Monday to Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. for Limited Browsing, Order Pickup, Phone Orders, and Contactless Parking Lot Pickup.  Order online 24 hours a day.

**Free Local Area Delivery on Tuesday and Friday**

Please Note:  Many of the high demand books that say 'On our Shelves Now' are on hold for other customers.  You can place an order and we will let you know when they come back in stock.  Thank you for your patience.

Staff Pick Badge
Things in Jars Cover Image
By Jess Kidd, Jacqueline Milne (Read by)
List Price: $39.99
Our Price: $35.99
(Save: $4.00 10%)
Unavailable from Warehouse - May take longer to order

Staff Reviews


"It’s a true pleasure to meet Bridie Divine, protagonist of Things in Jars by Jess Kidd. Bridie is a detective in mid-1800s London, a pipe-smoking, ghost-seeing detective unlike any you’ve ever encountered. She is brought the cases strange and unsolvable, and uses her experience as a child resurrectionist and doctor’s apprentice to solve cases. Charged with finding Christable Berwick, stolen secret child of a nobleman who was born different and valuable to collectors of the 'unusual.' The case takes Bridie down paths of those collectors, from circus showmen to private anatomists and the villains who make the deals in between. Assisting Bridie is an eclectic collection of misfits that range from the giantess Cora to street sweeper Jem, every character worthy of their very own book! I loved Things in Jars and hope to share this book with everyone I know!"

More recommendations from Jennifer

— Jennifer

February 2020 Indie Next List


“Set in Victorian England, Things in Jars feels like a Sherlock Holmes story, if Holmes had been a woman. You can’t help but love Bridie Devine, a strong-willed, chain-smoking woman who has clawed her way from life as an orphaned thief to a highly sought-after detective often consulted by Scotland Yard. Bridie’s newest case, though, is proving difficult and incredibly strange. Not only will it force her to confront someone from her past who she thought was dead, she’ll also team up with an actual ghost as she solves a fantastical crime. Highly imaginative, Things in Jars is a fun and immersive read.”
— Jamie Southern, Bookmarks, Winston-Salem, NC

Description


"Miraculous and thrilling...A few pages in and I was determined to read every word Jess Kidd has ever written." --Diane Setterfield, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Once Upon a River "A perfect mix of hilarity, the macabre, and a touch of romance, Things in Jars is ridiculously entertaining, all as it sneaks up and makes you feel things...Simply: Jess Kidd is so good it isn't fair." --Erika Swyler, bestselling author of The Book of Speculation and Light from Other Stars In the dark underbelly of Victorian London, a formidable female sleuth is pulled into the macabre world of fanatical anatomists and crooked surgeons while investigating the kidnapping of an extraordinary child in this gothic mystery--perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation.Bridie Devine--female detective extraordinaire--is confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet: the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick, secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick, and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors trading curiosities in this age of discovery. Winding her way through the labyrinthine, sooty streets of Victorian London, Bridie won't rest until she finds the young girl, even if it means unearthing a past that she'd rather keep buried. Luckily, her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters, including a seven-foot tall housemaid; a melancholic, tattoo-covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary. But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where spectacle is king and nothing is quite what it seems. Blending darkness and light, history and folklore, Things in Jars is a spellbinding Gothic mystery that collapses the boundary between fact and fairy tale to stunning effect and explores what it means to be human in inhumane times.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781508299493
ISBN-10: 1508299498
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: February 4th, 2020
Language: English