Rica Baptista: Llamas, Iguanas, and My Very Best Friend (Hardcover)

Monday to Thursday 10AM to 7PM--Friday & Saturday 10AM to 8PM
--Open 11AM to 5PM on Sunday  
**Order online any time.

Expanded Sunday Hours: 12/11 & 12/18 - 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Rica Baptista: Llamas, Iguanas, and My Very Best Friend By Janet Costa Bates, Gladys Jose (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Janet Costa Bates, Gladys Jose (Illustrator)
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Dec 7 1:03pm
(JUV: EARLY READERS)

Description


Rica’s very best friend is moving away. How can she convince her parents to let her get a pet so she won’t be lonely? Friendship and family shine in this engaging young chapter book.

Rica Baptista wants—no, needs—a pet. A llama, a kinkajou, or maybe an iguana? She even has a name picked out: Frederica, her own name, after her Cape Verdean great-great-grandfather. But Rica’s parents say no almost faster than their mouths can open. The worst part is that Rica can’t tell anyone the real reason she wants a pet, because she’s not supposed to know—she overheard that her best friend, Laini, is moving away, and Rica worries about being left behind. Rica and Laini make lists of the benefits of having a pet to convince Rica’s parents, and they try all sorts of schemes to raise money to afford one, from party planning to holding a yard sale to entering a poetry contest. But in the end, it might be an act of unselfish kindness and courage that shows that Rica is ready to take on the pet of her dreams. In a rich and amusing story that will appeal to fans of Judy Moody and Ivy and Bean, a sincere and creative protagonist navigates friend and family relationships from funny to frustrating, endearing to insightful.

About the Author


Janet Costa Bates is the author of Time for Bed, Old House, illustrated by AG Ford. Her grandparents, like Rica’s ancestors, immigrated from Cape Verde. If she could have any pet, she would choose a beagle. Or maybe a giraffe. Janet Costa Bates lives in Massachusetts.

Gladys Jose is the illustrator of several books for young readers. She lives in Florida with her husband and daughter.

Praise For…


In this engaging and fast-paced narrative, Rica proves herself a smart protagonist with a big heart and great sense of humor. As she goes through her schemes, she offers lessons in responsibility. . . A satisfying story of friendship and kindness.
—Kirkus Reviews

Bates paints a vivid picture of Rica's family, folding in plenty of details of their Cape Verde heritage. . . . This heartening and optimistic chapter book emphasizes resourcefulness and resilience in the face of worry, themes sure to resonate with elementary-schoolers, and a final sweet twist is the perfect rosy note to end on.
—Booklist

This humorous and thoughtful book introduces a charismatic and clever heroine. . . Black-and-white illustrations complement the sweet plot and are sure to leave readers wishing for another chance to visit Rica’s world. . . . A heartfelt story full of great characters that will encourage readers to keep trying, this is a wonderful addition to fiction collections for children.
—School Library Journal

Oh, garbanzo beans! You’ll be sorry if you wait to meet big-hearted Rica, who discovers the joy of family, friendship, pets, and the power of finding her own voice.
—Megan McDonald, New York Times best-selling author of the Judy Moody series

Rica is a welcome addition to the chapter book scene—she’s funny, determined, and kind. Readers will be rooting for Rica as she goes after her dream of getting a pet. I crown Rica Baptista the Queen of Trying!
—Debbi Michiko Florence, award-winning author of the Jasmine Toguchi series


Product Details
ISBN: 9781536216301
ISBN-10: 1536216305
Publisher: Candlewick
Publication Date: October 25th, 2022
Pages: 128
Language: English
Series: Rica Baptista