Every Gift a Curse (The Gifts #3) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Every Gift a Curse (The Gifts #3) By Caroline O'Donoghue Cover Image

Every Gift a Curse (The Gifts #3) (Hardcover)

$19.99


On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Apr 13 11:03am
(JUV: YOUNG ADULT)

Staff Reviews


All Our Hidden Gifts (2021), Gifts That Bind Us (2022), and Every Gift a Curse (2023):
"Present day Ireland, four coming-of-age witches learn to harness their powers to defend the magical well underneath the city of Kilbeg against an American evangelist cult! Maeve Chambers stumbles on an old deck of tarot cards in the school basement, and soon she is familiar enough with tarot to start reading her classmates’ cards. She makes enemies, she makes friends, and she is constantly at the center of magical-related drama. She and her friends, Roe, Lily, and Fiona, struggle to balance their education, their futures, and their identities all while coming into their own individual powers. Meanwhile, the Children of Brigid are on a conversion mission, and when they focus their attention on Roe, Maeve makes it her mission to end the cult’s reign of terror on the town. This was such a wild ride and I could not put it down. Fans of Derry Girls and The Craft/anything witchy will love this series. TW: homophobia, transphobia, hate crime, self-harm, and more. Take care of yourself while reading these books."--Reviewed by Meghan

Magic-sensitive Maeve wants to save the innocent from a dangerous cult. But how much can she delve into darkness without becoming what she fears? The exciting conclusion to the Gifts series.

Big things are happening for Maeve and her tight-knit coven in Kilbeg, Ireland. Fiona lands a role on a TV show, Roe’s band is poised to hit the big time, and Lily has a new punk style and passion for tattooing. Then there’s Maeve, whose magic is growing stronger and more frightening. She finds herself increasingly lashing out, doing and saying cruel things without knowing why. When her recurring dreams begin to involve her physically manifesting in other places, Maeve realizes the power she wields might not be entirely under her control. She turns to enemy-turned-maybe-friend Aaron for help, which means pushing her other friends away. But when the two learn that the religious cult the Children of Brigid is kidnapping vulnerable teenagers in preparation for a dangerous ritual, Maeve must risk letting an older magic consume her. She’ll need all the protection—and love—she can get from her scattered coven.
Caroline O’Donoghue is the author of All Our Hidden Gifts and The Gifts That Bind Us as well as fiction for adults. An Irish author, journalist, and host of the acclaimed podcast Sentimental Garbage, she has contributed to Grazia, the Irish Times, the Irish Examiner, BuzzFeed, Vice, and the Times (London). Caroline O’Donoghue lives in London.
Product Details ISBN: 9781536228403
ISBN-10: 1536228400
Publisher: Walker Books US
Publication Date: May 9th, 2023
Pages: 432
Language: English
Series: The Gifts
Readers will be swept up both by interesting magical elements, such as Fiona’s communication with her familiar, a magpie named Paolo, and the more ordinary, recognizable details of the changes experienced by a group of teens on the cusp of adulthood. This appealing blend of realism and the paranormal and the evolution of each of the characters in their own rights is as satisfying as the final reckoning with the Housekeeper. . . A smartly plotted end to an emotionally engaging fantasy.
—Kirkus Reviews

Despite the fantastical backdrop, O’Donoghue’s characters seem wholly real in their dialogue and in their personal stories; Roe in particular has a major victory when a national magazine genders them correctly. Buy to finish the series, and eagerly await what comes next from this author.
—Booklist