The Coup Clock Clicks (Paperback)

We are available Monday to Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. for Limited Browsing, Order Pickup, Phone Orders, and Contactless Parking Lot Pickup.  Order online 24 hours a day.

**Free Local Area Delivery on Tuesday and Friday**

Please Note:  Many of the high demand books that say 'On our Shelves Now' are on hold for other customers.  You can place an order and we will let you know when they come back in stock.  Thank you for your patience.

The Coup Clock Clicks Cover Image
Unavailable from Warehouse - May take longer to order


The poems in The Coup Clock Clicks were written between 1971 and 1988, reflecting the work of the then young political activist, poems challenging indifference, and mainly concerned to understand and, if possible, ameliorate the situation of others. It is also a personal memoir, shaped as autobiography. In reggae-conscious free verse in Jamaican patwa, these poems are fierce, sometimes witty jeremiads against economic and socio-cultural division, poverty, violence, and thwarted lives. The collection is suffused with references to mainly Jamaican popular music. The later poems reflect on the collapse of 1970s’ hopes of decolonization after the widespread defeat of the left through self-inflicted injuries and the new world order of resurgent American power under Ronald Reagan.

About the Author

Brian Meeks is Professor of Africana Studies and Chair of the Africana Studies/Rites and Reason Theatre Department at Brown University. He has authored and edited eleven books on Caribbean politics, political culture and thought.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781845234256
Publisher: Peepal Tree Press Ltd.
Publication Date: March 1st, 2019
Pages: 72