Between Tides (Hardcover)

We are requiring masks if you are unvaccinated.
We will still be wearing masks in consideration of others.  Thank you!

New Summer Hours as of 7/12/21:
Monday to Thursday 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Friday & Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
--And Sunday from 12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. 

**Order online any time.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Between Tides Cover Image
$24.95
Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


"Before Gilly ships out to Europe during WWII, she takes a trip to Cape Cod to find out more about her father.  She visits Blythe on Cape Cod, whom she believes is her father's sister, but it turns out that she was the wife he left behind to start a new life in the Outer Banks.  Blythe tells Gilly stories about their life on Cape Cod and how he slowly disappeared from her life and ended up on the Outer Banks.  Shifting stories between the 1890s and the present, Between Tides is a fascinating exploration of memory, family, and loss. The novel features the author's beautiful poetic language and vivid descriptions of the sea."--Reviewed by Percy

Description


A captivating historical novel set on Cape Cod and North Carolina's Outer Banks, perfect for readers of Where the Crawdads Sing and Marilynne Robinson's Housekeeping
1890s, Cape Cod: Between tides, a man deserts his wife and his post as keeper of the Chatham Beach Lifesaving Station to start a new family far to the south, at Cape Hatteras.
1940s: His daughter, en route to serve in World War II with the Red Cross, travels to Cape Cod where she meets his first wife, Blythe, reanimating a life she had long buried: memories of her courtship, her bitter losses, and her husband's slow-motion vanishing.
Set on two wild seascapes, Cape Cod and North Carolina's Outer Banks, Between Tides is a lyrical novel for readers of Virginia Woolf, Djuna Barnes, and Marilynne Robinson--a story of two women stitching together a family ripped at the seams and discovering that even through absence, love's presence is everlasting.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781950539321
ISBN-10: 1950539326
Publisher: Dzanc Books
Publication Date: August 10th, 2021
Language: English