Between Tides (Hardcover)

We are requiring masks if you are unvaccinated.
We will still be wearing masks in consideration of others.  Thank you!

Monday to Thursday 10AM to 7PM--Friday & Saturday 10AM to 8PM
--Sunday from 12PM to 6PM 
**Order online any time.

Staff Pick Badge
Between Tides Cover Image
$24.95
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Oct 22 11:18am
(FICTION: NOVELS)

Staff Reviews


"Before Gilly ships out to Europe during WWII, she takes a trip to Cape Cod to find out more about her father.  She visits Blythe on Cape Cod, whom she believes is her father's sister, but it turns out that she was the wife he left behind to start a new life in the Outer Banks.  Blythe tells Gilly stories about their life on Cape Cod and how he slowly disappeared from her life and ended up on the Outer Banks.  Shifting stories between the 1890s and the present, Between Tides is a fascinating exploration of memory, family, and loss. The novel features the author's beautiful poetic language and vivid descriptions of the sea."--Reviewed by Percy

"Between Tides by Angel Khoury is a historical novel of a man who lived between two women through the stories and eyes of his daughter that he left behind.  Gil was a man drawn to, and by, the sea for its adventures.  The backdrop of this story is in Cape Cod and the North Carolina Outer Banks in the 1890s.  Khoury's style is almost poetic at times as she weaves together the various threads of her characters.  Her descriptions and attention to detail allows the reader to view and at times feel, and even smell, the salt air that permeates the shores.   Gillian or Gilly, as her father called her, sees her life in a different perspective as she waits for the papers to come through to start her own adventures serving in WWII with the Red Cross."--Reviewed by Penny

Description


A captivating historical novel set on Cape Cod and North Carolina's Outer Banks, perfect for readers of Where the Crawdads Sing and Marilynne Robinson's Housekeeping


1890s, Cape Cod: Between tides, a man deserts his wife and his post as keeper of the Chatham Beach Lifesaving Station to start a new family far to the south, at Cape Hatteras.

1940s: His daughter, en route to serve in World War II with the Red Cross, travels to Cape Cod where she meets his first wife, Blythe, reanimating a life she had long buried: memories of her courtship, her bitter losses, and her husband's slow-motion vanishing.

Set on two wild seascapes, Cape Cod and North Carolina's Outer Banks, Between Tides is a lyrical novel for readers of Virginia Woolf, Djuna Barnes, and Marilynne Robinson--a story of two women stitching together a family ripped at the seams and discovering that even through absence, love's presence is everlasting.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781950539321
ISBN-10: 1950539326
Publisher: Dzanc Books
Publication Date: August 9th, 2021
Pages: 304
Language: English