Queer Book Club - How to Survive a Summer

Event date: 
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
471 Angell Street
Providence, RI 02906

Queer Book Club - How to Survive a SummerHow to Survive a Summer
by Nick White

“Packed with story and drama … If Tennessee Williams’s ‘Suddenly Last Summer’ could be transposed to the 21st-century South, where queer liberation co-exists alongside the stubborn remains of fire and brimstone, it might read something like this juicy, moving hot mess of a novel.”—Tim Murphy, The Washington Post

A debut novel centering around a gay conversion camp in Mississippi, and a man’s reckoning with the trauma he faced there as a teen. For readers of Kent Russell and Justin Torres.

Camp Levi—a retreat nestled in the Mississippi countryside—is designed to “cure” young teenage boys of their budding homosexuality. Will Dillard, a Midwestern graduate student, spent a summer at Levi as a teenager, and has since tried to erase that experience from his mind. But when a fellow student alerts him that a slasher movie based on the camp is being released, he is forced to confront his troubled history and possible culpability in the death of a fellow camper.

As past and present are woven together, Will recounts his “rehabilitation,” eventually returning to the abandoned campgrounds to solve the mysteries of that pivotal summer, and to reclaim his story from those who have stolen it. With a masterful confluence of sensibility and place, How to Survive a Summer introduces an exciting new literary voice.

Nick White is an Assistant Professor of English at Ohio State University. A native of Mississippi, he earned a Ph.D. in English from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. His short stories have been published in a variety of places, including The Kenyon Review, Guernica, Indiana Review, Day One, The Hopkins Review, and elsewhere.

The Queer Book Club was founded who knows how many years ago by two Smith grads, new in town and hoping to meet women. Since then, we've met many smart queers of various genders, read heaps of books, laughed a lot, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.  We read books by and/or about queers: classics, contemporary and genre fiction, graphic novels, non-fiction, memoirs, plays, and poetry.  We convene the third Wednesday of the month at 7 PM.  After our discussion of the book chosen for the month, we adjourn to a local watering hole for socializing.  Join us, even if you didn't get around to reading the book--you never know who you might meet!

Contact queerbookclub@gmail.com or go to our Providence Queer Book Club Facebook page for more information.